Logo Background

Major Snow Leopard Bug Said To Delete User Data

  • Written by admin No Comments Comments
    Last Updated: October 13, 2009


    inglishmayjer was one of several readers to send in the news of a major bug in Apple’s new OS, 10.6 Snow Leopard, that can wipe out all user data for the administrator account. It is said to be triggered — not every time — by logging in to the Guest account and then back in to the admin account. Some users are reporting that all settings have been reset and most data is gone. The article links to a number of Apple forum threads up to a month old bemoaning the problem. MacFixIt suggests disabling login on the Guest account and, if you need that functionality, creating a non-administrative account named something like Visitor. (The Guest account is special in that its settings are wiped clean after logout.) CNet reports that Apple has acknowledged the bug and is working on a fix.

    Read more of this story at Slashdot.

    More…



Closed Comments are currently closed.